New prescription diet = litter not cutting it!

go6car

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi Everyone -

I've read everything I can find on here about litter boxes and what litter to use, but I've got a new problem now -- a sticky gooey mess everytime my kitty pees since she's been on her Royal Canin Urinary SO prescription diet (and clearly also loving/using her new cat water fountain, as well!).

The combo I've been using for ~10 years (Littermaid automatic box with ExquisiteCat premium unscented clumping cat litter, or a brand from Walmart -- also premium/uncsented/clumping) has been absolutely fine until now.

I don't know if it's the pH change of the urine from the new diet, or if it's the increased quantity of it, but my current setup just isn't cutting it now. For an automatic box, I'm sure in there an awful lot smoothing out the litter and shoveling out the clumps and goo that didn't get picked up by the rake and/or is still stuck to it.

I recently tried Tidy Cats for small spaces, but that didn't work, so I'm stumped. Has anyone experienced a pH change that also caused the litter to lose its hard clumping power?

I'm open to any change but my baby is recently sight impaired, so I'm not sure I could get anything too strange for her to navigate through...

Thanks for any help!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

go6car

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Ok, so off to PetSmart I went. Again.

I donated the rest of the Tidy Cats litter to the homeless shelter that works out of that store, and instead came home with Dr. Elsey's Precious Cat Ultra Scoopable Litter.

Going to give this a try (in the Littermaid) and we'll see what happens. I'll post findings too -- in the off chance anyone else is having a similar issue.

Thanks!

GoldyCat

Staff Member
Purraise