New Kitten Owner, Have Some Questions

weresquid

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello,

I joined this forum a few years ago when I was a high school student asking questions about my parent's cats.  However, I am now lucky to be a senior in college in an apartment with kitties of my own.  My signifigant other and I have been living in our apartment for about half a year now.  Our eldest, a male neutered black cat named Blackie who is three years old (also vaccinated), has been living there for about 4 months.  I adopted him as a stray last winter and kept him with my parents until I moved out with him this year. 

This weekend we came across a stray kitten in our apartment complex who didn't have any owners and we have seen running around before.  She decided that she wouldn't leave us alone and my boyfriend was immedietaly smitten with her.  After a trip to the vet confirming she was three months old, female, had no microchips, and wasn't sick we decided to adopt her into our little family.

We kept her isolated for the very first day, trying the feedings through our bedroom door with the older cat and having her use a blanket to rub her smell on.  A few hisses from Blackie, but all seemed well.  She used the litter box we got her immediately, but her feces seems runny or "soft serve" and brown.  I wasn't sure what healthy kitten poop is supposed to look like.  Right now it's more "soft serve," but Saturday it was very watery.  She does seem to bury it along with her pee.  I have her eatting Blue Buffalo Kitten food 3 times a day (very small amount, she hasn't been overeating) along with probably a teaspoon of wet Friskies food twice a day when Blackie has breakfast and dinner.