New Kitten doesn't like wet food

meekabookitten

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
So I have run into an issue. My 11 week old kitten doesn't like wet food! Before I got him I ordered a variety pack of Nature's Variety Instinct. When I tried to feed him the lamb and duck he tried to bury them and then ran away from them and refused to touch them. With the beef and chicken flavors he will take a couple of bites and then leave the rest. I also feed him raw chicken instinct which he really enjoys but is too pricey to feed him more than once a day (I'm a college student!), Stella and Chewy's Duck Duck Goose (also pricey) and he gets Nature's Variety Instinct duck kibble. He is a sweet little boy, and I want to make sure he is getting enough water. After my Instinct canned food trial failed I went to the pet store and grabbed some other assorted cans to try. He has tried kitten blue wilderness (he finished about half of this one time), kitten blue regular (wouldn't touch it), wellness core turkey (wouldn't touch it), a couple of kinds of canidae that he hated, wellness kitten original that he doesn't like and Merrick chicken. When he decides that he doesn't like a wet food even adding Parmesan doesn't help. He also is appalled by anything fish.   Does anyone have any ideas on what the next step should be? I have had a picky cat before, but he didn't turn picky until he was at least 17. I want to try to get him used to wet food now so I don't have 20 years ahead of me of a terribly picky cat :-(

bonepicker

Animal Lover Extraordinare
Top Cat
Purraise