New Here, Concerns About Orphaned Kittens

Lianne_Crazy_Foster_Lady

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi there! Im single, live a lone and have no children. I foster kittens for my local SPCA. I've been fostering for seven years and love it but I still find myself filled with questions, insecurity and concerns. As much as I value the local SPCA, their support of kitten care for their foster people is pretty limited.

I am currently fostering two litters of kittens that I'm housing together. The first litter has two kittens who are probably 5-6 weeks old and the second litter has five kittens who are about 4 weeks old.

I'm concerned with the size of six of the kittens. All five of the younger group seem thin, have no meat on them and are light in weight when I pick them up. One of the older two kittens doesn't seem to be growing as well as his sibling is. I often mistake him for one of the younger kittens where his siblings is noticeably larger, more active and playful. All seven kittens are eating wet food on their own. I was syringe feeding the younger five but they figured out eating on their own last Monday (today is Sunday). The six I'm concerned about all sleep a lot, which I expect, but when they are awake they cry constantly. The SPCA provides the food for the kittens. Right now they have Iams kitten kibble available but I haven't seen any of them at that bowl. Unfortunately, the wet food I'm given is based on what is donated by the community so it changes frequently. I do try to choose cans of better quality food but those are rare to find. I'm not in a financial position to purchase their food myself so I have to rely on the inconsistent donations.