New here, and new to cats!

shivoee

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello all! After browsing the web for cat info I stumbled upon this site, saw that it had a forum and thought "oh perfect!"
You see, I have never had cats before, and I (very unexpectedly) adopted two sister when they were 6 weeks old.

I never really even liked cats, as I am a dog person by nature. I'm a dog groomer and trainer by trade, but I love animals in general.
What happened was, I saw a post on a local facebook swap shop that read "I have two kittens for free, if no one takes them by tomorrow I'm dropping them at the shelter."
Well I fallow the shelters facebook and knew they weren't taking any cats at the time because Feline leukemia virus had taken hold of their cat center!
I decided to watch the post and everyone was asking for the pure gray cat, but not the grey and white one.
So I said I would take the grey and white, because I figured if these people were so quick to get rid of these baby kitty's, they would be just as quick to drop them outside and not think anything of it!

The next day when they came to drop off our new family member, they got out of there car, handed me a closed box and said "it's in there" and a bag with some non kitten cat chow.
I went inside as quickly as possible to let the poor dear out of the box and to my surprise BOTH kitten were in the box! My 4 year old daughter (who calls herself "The Cat Master") was thrilled, and as I was watching the tiny little things roam around my living room I was wondering what on earth I was going to do with two kittens, no litter box, no kitten food, and pay day 4 days away. I didn't even think about having cat things because I was so worried about them getting dropped somewhere.

Thankfully, we have quite a bit of sand in our yard, so I dug a bunch up, baked it at 500 for 2 hours and let it cool, and used an old and very low to the ground clothing tote for a litter box. Worked great!