New feral momma cat ambivalent about her four kittens

queenofspades

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I recently trapped a feral cat that I’ve been feeding for the last six months - when I realized she was pregnant I jumped into action and trapped her 2/9/2023. Last weekend on the 18th she gave birth to four kittens in an XL crate with a heater, bedding, litter box, etc.

She is very fearful but mostly timid, hasn’t been actively aggressive, only hisses and growls if I get too close to her. I had set up a hammock in the crate, and of course she said to give birth in the hammock. After two kittens had fallen out of the hammock ( I heard their cries and came and retrieved them both times) in the first few days, I got in there and lowered it down into a cat bed for the kittens’ safety.

She allows me to touch the kittens in these moments, and I check on them every day. She’s usually nearby but not always with them in their nest. I’m worried about how much time she’s spending with them and whether they are getting adequate nourishment.
I’m trying to minimize my interaction not so it’s not to stress her out further. But she’s not a big cuddler with the babies. They are clean, and they do appear to be fed, but she’s spending a lot of time away from them.

My question is should I get a bottle and nursing solution and supplement their food since she’s so infrequently nursing them as far as I can tell? Or should I just put a camera in there and get the actual data of what’s going on without stressing her out further first? I’ve been super concerned and I’d appreciate any thoughts and insights on this. I want to make sure these kittens are healthy and tame and mama just doesn’t seem to know what she’s doing, or maybe she’s just ambivalent about being a momma…?

I’d appreciate any thoughts and perspective.

Attachments

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

queenofspades

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise