Need Tips For New Cat Owner

Megan S

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi everybody! I am very excited to be adopting my first cat soon! I have some experience with cats, but I have never owned one. I'm looking for some tips to help both of us settle in easier.

I plan on getting a cat from a shelter. How do I know I'm picking a good cat? I want one that is super nice and hopefully good with a litter box, but how can I know that from meeting it at the shelter?

I'm planning on starting the cat in my den. Should the room have only furniture that the cat can scratch? Should there be places to hide? How much time should I spend in there with it?

Sorry I have a lot of questions and any other advice you can give would be much appreciated! Thanks!

tabbytom

Happiness is being owned by a cat
Staff Member
Mentor
Purraise
Hello Megan S Megan S , welcome to TCS :wave3:

Glad that you'll be adopting your first kitty. And it's good that you are doing some homework before bringing your kitty home.

Best is to let the cat choose you while you are at the shelter. You'll know which one will be choosing you. It'll be the ones that come great you, rub on you and hang around you and let you pet and carry them.

You can go back maybe twice to the shelter the following day to confirm if that whether the same cat come greet you again. If it does, that is the one or two you want to bring home.

It might be a hard choice as there may be more than one than will choose you and you might end up going home with more than one cat. In a way, is good as if you decided to get another, there's no need to do any introduction between cats as they are from the same shelter and have been living together and going home with you together.