Need help...I want to go raw, but my wife is scared of salmonella

lehighluke

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
We got two new kittens a few weeks ago, and they are amazing by the way.  I am a veteran cat owner, and I started doing some research on the best food for the cats, and I learned about raw diet, and everything just clicked.  I can afford to grind my own food, and I am very enthusiastic about this, I have spent days doing the research and learning everything.  The problem is my wife doesn't want to go do the raw diet.  She is a very worrisome person, especially when it comes to health and getting sick.  She understands that the raw diet would be better for the cats, and that there is little or no risk of them ever getting sick...but She is very afraid of US getting sick from handling the cats after eating the raw food.

To make matters worse, the vet told her that she does not recommend raw feeding because of the risk to the owners.

I am at my wits end, its been a source of serious tension.  I am looking for some evidence or links to articles that suggest that there is little or no risk to people if the raw food is prepared correctly.  I plan on following the Dr. Pierson method, ground whole rabbit from a good farm, and par-cooked poultry.  I really need help, I know my wife is over-reacting, I just need some educated evidence to help convince her that there is nothing to worry about is we are careful.

Thanks

vball91

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Do you and/or your wife handle raw meat for cooking at home? To me, it's no different. It's just common sense to clean the prep area, tools and hands before and after preparation/serving. In all my years of preparing and cooking meat at home for myself and others, I have never made anyone sick. I don't know why it would be any different for cat food. I haven't made the cat or myself sick either from preparing/serving her food

vball91

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise