Need advice as a new owner of 4wk old abandon kitten.

zanyzounds

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi all I am new to this forum, and I'm also new at kitten ownership. In the past I have only owned adult cats rescued from shelters. However, This past Sunday a friend of mine and I found this tiny little kitten, covered in dirt on the side of a very busy road.

I have since taken Snowman (the found kitten) to the vet and obtained a clean bill of health. Dr. Runt thinks the kitty is about 4wks old.

What I would like is some advice from knowledgable owners.
1) Does he need any thing special other than the soft kitten food the vet gave me?

2) Snowman bits, in fact most of the time its the first thing he does. Is this a phase in baby cat growth? or is this a message I'm not getting?

3) The vet believes that Snowman is a Siamese cross. How do I know when the cat is crying because it needs me, or if its crying because he just likes to talk?

So Basically ANY advice would be helpful.

eatrawfish

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I am not expert, so I'm hoping others will back me up. But...

A 4wk old kitten can be weaned. Really, I'd keep an eye on how much he is eating. If he seems to be eating a lot of food than the wet food is probably fine. If he doesn't want to eat, then you might want to try some formula.

The biting I'm not sure about. My kittens tend to bite a lot and I have to try and teach them not too.

The crying, some kittens cry more than others. Sometimes they just cry because they want attention, or you picked them up when they didn't want you to, and of course they will cry because they are hungry. If the vet gave him an OK and he's not crying when you handle specific parts of him (like he's injured or hurting) I probably wouldn't worry too much.

gayef

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Bless your heart ... you are so wonderful to take this little one into your home and heart - thank you!

OK, about your questions ...