My Kitten Killed Her First Little And Is Pregnant Again Will This Happen Twice?

Jeniiboox3

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi my kitten got pregnant right after she turned one year old. She’s an in door out door cat and this is my first time ever owning a cat... she got pregnant and had her baby’s in June, there were 5 of them which was weird because she’s a mini cat she never got very big, they all were fine until exactly one month after birth she killed 2 of them, after that I separated them and my best friends mom took them and bottle fed them but they all passed away within a few days. I was trying to keep her inside until I could get her spayed but she got out and didn’t come home for a few days after that I kept her inside until I noticed she was getting a belly and started to puke around the house, she is now definitely pregnant again. Unfortunately I am so nervous because I have 4 kids and they all love her and we are worried she will kill this second litter as well because we have no clue why she killed the first one. All the kittens were fine and growing. I did notice her nipples were really chapped so I would put vasaline one them and try to help her. I’m not sure what else I can do besides obviously getting her spayed after this and don’t worry I will. I can’t handle burying another litter or hearing her cry all over the house for them. It was really hard on us all and her. If anyone has any answers or can help on any way I would appreciate any advice I can get. Thank you.

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
She killed them prob because she saw they were dying. The others died although handraised so it was on way.
Moms killing dying kittens is quit common. They try to protect the others. They are good moms!

Genetic fault on these kittens? We dont know.
Probably it wont happen again but the risk is clearly higher then otherwise.

Last edited:

Elphaba09

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise