My cat pee while asleep

Jillian02

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everyone! This is my first time posting and also first time having a cat.

My cat pees when he sleeps. He’s a 6 month old male persian. It seems like he just pees in his sleep whenever he is in a deep sleep where he twitches because of his dreams. We already brought him to the vet, did the xray, no blockage or crystals, we also did ultrasound and the vet told me that his bladder is healthy. We did some series of antibiotics because the first vet rules out that this is a case of UTI due to stress. It didn’t improved. He recently survived feline panleukopenia in which he did take anseries of antibiotics again so if this is an infection, it should be cleared by this time, but it did not. He is a happy, active cat. He eats and drinks well. He uses his litterbox once a day for poop and peeing. He never strains to urinate. One more thing, I observed that whenever he is dreamin and leaking, his genitals come out (pink thing). Do guys have amy idea about this? The pee that he leaks doesn’t have any smell and no color.

Mamanyt1953

Rules my home with an iron paw
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Um. Once in a while I come across something that I have never run into before. And a cat peeing in their sleep is one of those things. He's healthy, so that's good, and he's happy, so that's even better. He's just a VERY deep sleeper. He should probably use his litter box for peeing more than once a day, though. And here my mind goes in weird directions...maybe set him in the litter box near bedtime? Worked on my kids, and the worst it would do is nothing.

Cat do dream, so I'm not overly surprised that he might "strut his stuff" a little bit in his sleep. That might be the reason, as well. This could possibly be a small amount of semen. The "no smell, no color" suggests that. Is he neutered? If not, it is high time, and may put an end to all of this.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Jillian02

TCS Member
Kitten