My Cat Has Become Very Agressive Now He's The Only One

Cassie15

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I used to live with a roommate and she had three cats of her own that my cat was with. I recently moved out on my own and my cat is now the only one. Within the last few weeks, he has become more and more agressive towards me, such as chasing me and biting my legs when I walk, attacking my feet, and scratching my hand when I go to pet him. I have a bunch of toys for him and do my best to play with him everyday when I get home from work, but this has not seemed to help. Any suggestions to help ease this transition or to at least minimize the agressivness during it would be greatly appreciated.

ArtNJ

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Its unlikely to be aggressiveness imho. Your cat is likely bored, and is treating you as prey for play purposes. I'm not an expert on cat boredom, but as far as the biting goes, try a loud enough to be startling "No!" coupled with disengaging and ignoring the cat.

If the cat is fairly young and your so inclined, you could consider a kitten, but to get a playmate for the first cat that has never seemed a great reason to get a second cat to me. Others will hopefully chime in with a variety of recommendations such as food puzzles and cat TV that might help.

susanm9006

Lola
Top Cat
Purraise
I think your cat is missing having a playmate and is trying to turn you into one. It isn’t aggression, it is inappropriate playing. He needs some way to burn off some of his energy -use wand type toys and lasers, or teach him to fetch.

If he does grab your hand or jump at your feet, you stop, tell him no in a stern voice.

FlawlessImperfection

Life isn’t perfect, and it’s lovely that way. ❤️
Alpha Cat
Purraise