Moving & don't want to leave feral cats behind

lenag3

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi there,

I am in the Bay area (East San Jose to be exact) and I have been feeding feral cats in the neighborhood for a few months now. I will be moving out soon but I was hoping to trap and neuter these cats and possibly adopt them out if possible. I have been calling the humane society and other animal care centers nearby but all of them are swamped and unwilling to help if it involves adult feral cats. Should I try to trap them myself and socialize them as much as possible before I leave? I am no animal care expert so I am very hesitant to do this but I really don't want to abandon them and just hope for the best. I really don't want to cause unnecessary stress to the animals either so I am starting to lose hope all of this will lead to a happy ending...

daftcat75

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Can you post to NextDoor? It is possible that you are not the only one feeding these cats. Or you may be able to find someone in your neighborhood who can take over the feedings.

Adult ferals can take years to socialize. In the meantime, they can be miserable and terrified as indoor cats. And there are always other cats who can be socialized and adopted. Trying to socialize a feral takes time and resources away from these cats. As sad as it is, adult ferals are better off remaining where they are.