mother hates my cat... =(

clowangel

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I'm not sure where to put this, so I put it in this section. Sorry, this is going to be a bit long.

I'm a student so I'm obviously living at home with my parents. And I'll probably be living with them until I marry (a Chinese thing). Not too long ago (3-4 months back), I got Sho quite spontaneously. I wasn't prepared for a cat, and no one else was either, but it was an emergency situation. My younger sister had gotten a call from her friend, someone I also happen to know. Someone had left in her care a cat. It was only supposed to be for a few days until a new home could be found permanently. Unfortunately she already had a small dog, and her mother was absolutely against another animal in the house--even if it was temporary. So my sister looked to me imploringly. I didn't want the poor thing to end up in a shelter because that was the likely scenario if no one kept him, so I agreed to take him in, knowing I'd be facing some serious opposition. The next morning, he arrived at my doorstep.

Now the problem is obviously my parents, specifically my mother. My mother absolutely hates cats. Serious hate. To be accurate, she's a hater of all animals and detests cats above all else, but I've been keeping quite a few pets anyway. Needless to say, it was a battle of wills that ensued that night. In the end I won, and Sho found a permanent home with us.