Mode of inheritance for Cleft palate in cats

siameseifyouplease

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I have scoured the internet, looked through all my breed/breeding related books and my Merrick Vet manual, asked my vet and I cannot find any information on the mode of inheritance of cleft palate in cats. I have found information on dogs and 1 study from the University of Pittsburgh on a family of Siamese cats in which shows that Cleft Palate is inherited, but there wasn't enough information to prove how.

I have been breeding Siamese since 2013, we have had two Celft palate kittens born in the last two years from two sets of unrelated cats that had healthy litters with the opposite mates.

Thor x Mimi= 5 healthy kittens
Thor x Tally= 5 healthy kittens, 1 CP female
Max x Tally= 4 healthy kittens
Max x Mimi= 4 healthy kittens, 1 CP female

I would really like to know how I can prevent this in the future. If anyone has any information at all on this subject I would really appreciate if they shared it!

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise

catapault

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I found this: " Exposure of a pregnant cat to certain chemicals, cortisone, medications, or excessive intake of vitamins A and D has also been linked to the development of cleft palate in embryos. "

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

siameseifyouplease

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
furmonster mom furmonster mom I think that it can be either or both. Because it is more common in breeds like Siamese, there must be a hereditary component to it at least some of the time. And just like in humans it makes sense that improper diet and exposure to certain mediation or toxins could have an affect.