Mama kitty only had 1 kitten and won't leave me alone!

Reynoldswrap71

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My daughter's cat had one kitten at 4:12 this afternoon (it's 9:06 now). She has been driving me nuts ever since. I had to lay down on the floor next to her box for her to settle with the baby. She does not appear to be in ANY distress when I am with her but when I go to the other room, she follows,Lay's next to me and purrs, meows and just bit my cheek! This is not her first litter (she had 4 kittens about 6 most ago and we were late because of weather to her spay appt by 15 min so here we go again). I don't need comments about spaying please!!! I DO want advice. She is being very attentive to her baby and I cannot palpate any more kittens and she wasn't that big this time either. I am a labor and delivery nurse for people so I am bewildered. Any advice? My daughter's away at college and her cat hasn't really been too affectionate with me until the last month...

DreamerRose

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
She just wants you to stay with her for companionship. She probably thinks she is going to have more, and just wants you there for reassurance. When she is convinced she isn't going to have more, she will let you go.

And welcome to the Cat Site! There is tons of information here, and while you're waiting you might want to check out some articles on pregnant cats.

Jcatbird

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise