Let's Talk Music!!

mamasquishy

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I am bored and trying to get to know everyone a bit better. So what kind of music does everyone like and why? If your like me this question can turn into a conversation lasting for hours lol...

marie-p

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the
Right now I listen to a little bit of everything, really.

Especially The Beatles, Radiohead, Bjork, Beastie Boys, Genesis, Peter Gabriel...

However, when I'm studying (especially if I'm trying to cover some annoying background noises), I like to listen to Classical music. I really don't know much about classical music but so far all I have are a few cds of Glenn Gould (usually playing Bach). Very good!

I am also determined to learn more about Jazz as well as African and South American music... but I really don't know where to start. Except that maybe I should finish watching Ken Burn's "Jazz" documentaries.

arlyn

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
It'd be easier to say what kinds I don't like.

I don't like opera (going to the opera I enjoy, but can't stand them recorded).
I don't like country (except a very small selection of the old stuff)

I listen to and enjoy everything else.

zissou'smom

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
My absolute all-time, hands-down favorite is Bob Dylan. I have almost every album (not the cheesy 80s ones), several books and DVD's, and also Biograph and Desire on vinyl. And about 300 posters. Well, not 300 but two just in my bedroom, one a very beautiful hand-done print that my friend brought me back from London.

Favorite bands: Currently, I'm really into Guster and KT Tunstall. But I like lots and lots of stuff, from Ravi Shankar to System of a Down to Dixie Chicks to Beck.

Zissou says she likes Opera.

ugaimes

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise