Legal question regarding cat adoption and ownership

valleycatowner

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi Folks

This is my first time posting and I'm not really a "joiner," but my wife and I are experiencing an issue with our cat and her previous owner that starting to get closer and closer to a legal entanglement. If this is NOT the right forum for this type of question, please forgive me.

Our cat originally belonged to a relative who got her through an adoption agency about four years ago.

Within a year of adoption, the original owner had to move to a "no-pets" apartment.  She gave the cat to my mother-in-law. Mom-in-law kept the cat for three years.  Mom died in October of 2012.  We took over the estate, which included the care of the cat. 

We love the cat very much and is a welcome part of our feline family. We are living in the old house and all the cats are doing fine.

Now, out of the blue, the original owner is calling on us to "return" "her" cat now that she has moved to a new place. Never once in all the time we've been caring for the  cat has she said anything about taking back ownership. She  has not provided one dollar in reimbursement for food, littler, or vet bills.

Also, the agreement she had with the adoption agency was that she was to return to the cat to them in the event she could not longer keep it.  So she's in violation of the agency policy. 

Does anyone have any insights into such matters? Who has the stronger leg to stand on, legally speaking? 

Thanks so much for your time and any feedback you can provide.

catwoman707

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
In my opinion and experience, having a cat rescue group, the amt of time she had the cat originally, comparing it to the amt of time your mom in law had it, and you taking over her estate, I believe you have the rights to the cat.

After 3 years does this cat even know her? Maybe from visiting but as her owner? No of course not.