Kittens scratching her c section incision

Amandab2020

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Newbie here! My cat had a c section today and the kittens claws and scratching her incision and it’s starting to bleed a little. Vet is closed now, any advice?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Amandab2020

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
These were taken before c section. She delivered 4 on her own and they thought there was another one inside so they did a c section without an X-ray. There was not another kitten 😡 I was so upset. The vet insisted she needed a c section because he could feel one but it ended up being her bladder!! So not now my poor cat had an unnecessary surgery after giving birth.

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
What a shame! I’ll never understand these vets who don’t perform x-rays or ultrasounds prior to surgery. It’s unprofessional. Poor mama kitty!

You can apply coconut oil to the incision area to give some relief and protection, but your best bet would be to syringe feed the kittens yourself for a few days to let the incision heal a bit.

Here is a helpful video:

Syringe Feeding — Kitten Lady

How old are the kittens? Did they give mom an antibiotic shot and pain meds to take at home?

Amandab2020

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
They were born yesterday and no, neither.

Amandab2020

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
What a shame! I’ll never understand these vets who don’t perform x-rays or ultrasounds prior to surgery. It’s unprofessional. Poor mama kitty!

You can apply coconut oil to the incision area to give some relief and protection, but your best bet would be to syringe feed the kittens yourself for a few days to let the incision heal a bit.

Here is a helpful video:

Syringe Feeding — Kitten Lady

How old are the kittens? Did they give mom an antibiotic shot and pain meds to take at home?
Will the kittens go back to feeding on mama fairly easy and what about mama not getting fed on with all that milk accumulating in there?

Sarthur2