Kittens Born by Feral Cat

becki71

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi! I'm new to all this stuff so bare with me. I trapped a pregnant feral cat a few weeks ago. We have been keeping her in a large dog crate in our garage. The plan is once the babies are old enough to get them all spayed and neutered and find homes for them. We already have someone that wants mama cat. Anyway! She had four beautiful babies last night! We are so excited! Unfortunately we can't even get near the cage without her hissing and spitting at us. I put a box in the back of the crate but she decided to have her kittens up front by the door in her litter box!!! I really don't like the idea of the kittens being in such a dirty place. Plus she is going to need to go potty soon! She almost got me this morning when I tried to reach in for her food and water dish since she is right by the door. I really want to get mom and kittens in the other box but don't know how. Does anyone have any ideas? I tried putting a peice of chicken in the box to see if she would go in and check it out but hasn't moved so far. I don't know how to handle a feral cat so I'm a bit leery! I would like to keep my hand!
Thanks for any advice you guys might have!

Becki

purrfectcatlove

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Welcome to TCS

Do you have maybe a small room where she could stay by herself ? Maybe a bathroom could do .
I am sure some one pretty soon who know more about ferals will see this thread and give some more advice for you to help .

kumbulu

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise