Kittens and puppy

eris348

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi all,

On Wednesday, my partner and I gained a new addition to our household - a 9 week old Newfoundland pup, Inga.  Our family already consists of two 4 month old kittens - brothers - Rupert and Marco.

Rupert met Inga's Mum on Wednesday, and after coming face to face with a fully grown Newf hasn't appeared too worried about Inga! However, Inga sees Rupert as just a very small Newf, we think, so she enthusiastically chases him, and, when she catches him, she is quite rough with him - I fished his head out of her mouth yesterday. Marco, didn't venture downstairs for the first 36 hours. He is now in the living room, but she is very insistent on trying to get to him - he has smacked her twice and hisses whenever she comes close, which she meets with a bark, and, worryingly, occasionally a growl.

I am completely new to dogs, and my OH is new to cats, so we are running a little bit blind here!

Our main concern is Rupert's reaction to Inga when she catches him - he goes completely limp.  COMPLETELY limp.  I pick him up, getting him out of her clutches, and he is almost floppy.  It is really concerning - to be honest, I would rather he give her a smack like Marco - we have invested in swabs for her if the claws did come out!    I do get the impression that sometimes (not all of the time, but how is she supposed to tell the difference?!) he winds her up - drinking her water, strutting past multiple times until she chases him, then he either goes completely limp or comes to find me so that I tell her 'No' - possibly trying to get her into trouble? 

We really want the three of them to get along, and although it is early days I want to start from the beginning to teach them all what they can and can't do.