Kitten Won't Grow

Lolipopsuger

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi this is my first time posting on the forum , three days ago our cat that's not even one year old yet gave birth to two beautiful kittens , it's been three days and one kitten is growing normally but the other which I assume to be female is not growing and looks like she was still just born , she's much smaller and less hairy she has difficulties to find the nipple ( they always fight on it ) by she gets her fair share of milk like her brother. & mama cat doesn't seem to abandon her she doesn't care. My question is , is this normal ? I'm worried about her health don't want to loose her , could it be just a female-male difference ?

Ashy

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
It could be, typically female kittens will be smaller in size. She is the runt of the litter and as long as she is getting enough milk from mama, she should be okay. Keep an extra eye for the next few days and I think in a week you should notice some growth and improvement.

My kitten is 10 weeks old now and she was actually significantly smaller then her brothers and sister. She’s very healthy and normal.

abyeb

Charlie's Purrson
Veteran
Purraise
Since she’s not gaining weight and having trouble nursing, I would recommend hand feeding her. Using a needleless syringe would probably be the easiest, since she might be too weak to bite on a bottle. Give her KMR or goat’s milk, and feed her bellyside down, with her head slightly elevated, like the position she would be in while nursing. If she struggles, you can wrap her up in a towel or blanket. Also, you should weigh her (and the other kitten too, just to be sure), to make sure that she’s growing at an adequate rate. Around 10 g of gain per day would be good. These articles have more info:

Hand Rearing Kittens: What You Need To Know To Save A Newborn's Life

Weighing Newborn Kittens (and How This Could Save Their Lives)

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise