Kitten with diarrhea

misha13

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi!

I took in a five month old kitten, she was running around my backyard with her feral mom that i feed. She looked sick so I trapped and brought her to the vet to get vaccinated and dewormed. Well after I took her in to my apartment on campus she started having diarrhea (probably from the hookworms she was diagnosed with) I spent all the money I had getting her vaccinated and dewormed and the diarrhea still hasnt stopped. Im a broke college student who has a roommate that doesnt really like cats and is forcing me to give her away because she keeps leaking poop everywhere. Ive tried my hardest to get her better but im out of money and obviously no one wlll take a kitten with diarrhea. I feel like im out of options here, I really dont want to leave her outside where she'll just get the worms again but i cant spend hours cleaning up after her. Should I just release her back into my backyard with her mom and keep feeding her? My vet reccomended probiotics and antibiotics but i cant even afford that after paying rent and tuition. Theres no one I can ask for money my parents refuse to pay for vet bills since they dont like cats. I realize that if i cant afford the costs of having a pet i shouldnt have one but i was just trying to do a good thing by giving her a home. What is the correct thing to do here? Please help I am desperate!! Shes such a sweet kitty she loves cuddling ive never seen a cat as clingy as her. This is my first time posting on this website so please forgive me if im not following the correct format/rules! 

Kieka

Snowshoe Servant
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Can you give a timeline?

How long have you had the cat? How long ago was the vet visit? How long since worm treatment? What food are you feeding?