'kitten Season' Is Upon Us - New Stray Litter

Grillby

Proud cat mom of eight
Young Cat
Purraise
So in my area there aren't really any rescue programs at all. The feral and stray population around here is crazy high. I've been feeding some strays for a couple of years now, trying to spay/neuter out of pocket because I can't find any programs near me that help. My job doesn't pay well, so it's a slow work in process. So slow that the females I can't get spayed end up pregnant.. and I know this is very controversial, (not looking to argue over this either) but the cost of getting a pregnant cat spayed/terminating the litter is just.. so high that I've got a new mom stray and a still pregnant momma of my own now this year.

The weather is super wonky right now too, and it's about 35° right now and snowing. In the middle of spring?? So weird. Not sure how weather is anywhere else, but for here in Pennsylvania right now. But just a reminder that it's that time for kittens to be popping out and to keep an eye out for them and the cold weather. Gotta stay vigilant. Lol.

With that being said, I brought recently new momma inside with her kittens on my enclosed back porch. Way too cold and she seems to be rather inexperienced. Can't bring her fully inside since I have 6 cats of my own.. but I'm a little concerned. The mom looks sick. I don't know how to explain it but just.. off? She has a bit of a eye infection in one eye, but for some reason keeps.. like pooping. I've kept an eye on her and she always seems to have feces coming out or just generally low hygiene back there. And I've never experienced this before. I don't have the fees for a vet right now, as I just recently took my kitties in to get FIV tested and had my one male neutered (on top of bills). Could it just be she's stressed and that's causing it? Or maybe she's straining and not done giving birth? Potentially worms or just a poor diet?