Just rescued the "school cat"

eve shtern

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi, everyone,

There was a family of cats, a mother and two kittens, living on the campus where I am a teacher. They lived under a school building, and the kids took food from lunch and fed them every day. They were social enough that the children could pick them up and pet them. Over spring break, I think the school hired someone to catch the cats and take them away (I don't know where). But one of the kittens was left behind. I discovered her hiding under another building and scrounging for food. She had lost a lot of weight, and had a sore on her nose.

I fed her for a week, and then today I lured her into a cat carrier and took her to my house. She is sitting in my guest room, but I have no idea what to do now!! If we enter the room at all, she runs around and cries and hides.

I know I need to get her to the vet eventually, but I'm afraid of traumatizing her again, and I have no idea how I will get her back in the carrier. I am not sure what my next step should be.

I think she can be socialized because when I was feeding her she allowed herself to be petted, and I was even able to pick her up.

Eve

mrblanche

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Give her food and water and a litter box and then spend time in the room talking to her, reading aloud, etc. Let her come to you. Keep her in the one room for a while.

cat-astrophe

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise