Just moved my cat in to a new house with two resident cats. Help?!?

maddies momma

TCS member, Crazy Cat Lady!
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Hi, so I am a Veterinary Technician student and I bring my cat with me when I move out to school. Last year he took the move quite well. This year he seems to be having a harder time adjusting. However this year I moved in with two human roommates and one of those roommates has two cats in the house. She was there first (and her parents own the house) so her cats get run of the house, but this means my cat is living in my bedroom right now which is just not right. I would like for him to be able to coexist with the other cats so he can also have run of the house. But he doesn't seem to want anything to do with them (especially the more boisterous one). So basically my cat is in my room and when the house is quiet and my roommates are out i put her cats in her room so mine can explore the house a little. But a couple minutes once or twice a day is not enough for him, and its definitely not enough for him to become comfortable with the new house. As far as meeting the other cats I have done the scent exchange and i let them see each other through a cracked open door,but mine just hisses away like no tomorrow. So what can i do so he can become comfortable with the house and tolerant of the cats. My roommate (the owner of the other cats) is offering no help in dealing with the situation. I don't want my cat to live in a bedroom all year long. I have ordered feliway and that should arrive soon so i am hoping that will help but i really need some advice from some experienced cat owners. Please Help!!!!

(Just as a side note is it possible he wants nothing to do with these new cats because he is missing his real cat friend, which is my parents cat, who he was really close with?)

On the day writing this post it is the fifth day of being in the new house.

cat nap

stand with ukraine
Top Cat
Purraise