Is this right?

j_f_a

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
So I went to the co-op in stocksbridge and got some hi life pouches and some more whiskas. The plan is to switch him from Whiskas onto hi life because whiskas sounds disgusting in the ingredients (and when you look at them both whiskas looks disgusting too).

So anyway the can of whiskas says it serves two meals while the pouches serve one. So what I did was put a quarter of a can of whiskas and half a pouch of hi life in his bowl. Is this right? To slowly wean him off of whiskas over the course of 12 days?

Well I started before I went to bed and he was making funny noises like he was going to cough it up. Did I put too much new food in? Am I doing it wrong?

I'm very new to having cats and only have my herbivours as a reference and that's how I transition them although they can just switch completly with no transition so they're not a very good reference.

Any tips?

optionken

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I do not know the ingrediants in the food you are switching too. I hope you are sticking with wet foods. My cat got diabetes from eating dry food and there are alot of other problems that may be related to dry
That said, cats are carnivores and have no use for grains. So the better foods have muscle meat as the first ingrediant an maybe some vegetables but no rice no corn no whesat ect.
Best to you

aswient

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Does it happen all the time he eats it? Was it just the once? He could have just had a hairball. I don't see anything you did wrong. Just watch him for a while.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

j_f_a

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
well it was the first time I fed him the mix of the two foods. I've fed him again before I go to work but I can't watch him to see if he does it again. My sister thinks that maybe I put too much of the new food in.

aswient

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise