Is my cat a snob?

loveysmummy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Hi all.
New here..Great and informative site...!

I am a novice cat owner, just having been adopted by Lovey, a 1.5 year old beautiful adult neutered grey longhair..

He had been bounced around a few times in his life but has found a permanent home with me.

Our first couple of days together were stressful for him and after allowing him to approach me slowly, giving lots of love, play and bonding, he has seemed to developed some good trust (I have had him a week).

He seems to have adjusted, loves to play and be skritched and petted and cuddle..

My problem is he is the opposite of friendly with newcomers at this point.

When a stranger comes in, he may allow them to pet him, but may not. He hisses and swipes..He doesn't run away but says to them "who the heck are you and when are you leaving?"

He doesn't have to be adoring to everyone he sees, but I would appreciate if he didn't do the hissing and swiping..If they didn't see how he is with me (the loving boy), they would never believe he is a nice cat .

Will he grow accustomed to regular visitors (family/friends) over time? Or is it hard to tell? Is there anything I can do to facilitate him accepting people or anything I should NOT be doing??

Any advice appreciated.
Edited to add: Just thought I would add in that his attitude seems to grow more agitated with visitors...He paces (looks like a little tiger walking and goes from room to room...If they want to go to the bathroom, he waits outside and swipes at them as they go by). And heaven forbid, they attempt to walk over him if he is planted in a doorway. Its really as if he is saying "I am going to make it uncomfortable for you to be here.."
When they are gone, he seems satisfied with himself!

Tx!
Loveysmummy.

cirque

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise