Is it OK for my cats to eat mostly goose meat?

chalkydri

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Specifically whole carcass ground goose with bones, organs, skin and all. I'm asking because that's what I've been feeding my cats for the past two years now, but recently I was told they need a lot more variety than that which is.. mighty inconvenient news if that's true, not gonna lie.

I live on a homestead and geese are really low effort for me to raise - I don't need to feed them at all during the warm months because they graze, then after I've butchered most of them in the fall they happily live off of cracked corn and only that. I originally got them for hubby but he didn't like the meat, so I started raising them as cat food instead and stopped buying the other meats and supplements I was using previously to feed everyone raw. I thought I was doing a good thing, because I know how the geese lived (no antibiotics, treated well .etc.), how fresh the meat is and it seemed kinda eco friendly, idk.

But apparently this may not be a complete diet? Am I hurting my cats? If it's relevant, everyone is indoors (so not catching prey) and eats almost entirely goose, but with cooked table scraps on a regularish basis when they show interest (mainly meat, like lamb, goat, egg, various fish, but my husband is BAD and will give them cheese, bacon, bread, oatmeal, cream, stuff like that even though I say not to). Everyone seems to be pretty healthy, nice shiny coats, healthy weight but admittedly they're very overdue for checkups because of financial issues ATM.

maggie101

3 cats
Top Cat
Purraise
Goose meat is fatty so only as a treat. There is a thread for raw food. You might get more answers there

Last edited:

furmonster mom

Lap #2
Top Cat
Purraise