Inflamed bladder, blood in urine

Newhereluvcats

New to caring for a senior cat
Kitten
Purraise
To all who have had anything similar happen, I am new to caring for a senior cat. She has had a lot of blood in her urine, labs from the vet came back negative for a bladder or urinary infection. An ultra sound was done but it was Not clear enough to tell what the cotton ball like masses are all around - in regards to being tumors or blood clots. Also her bladder is extremely inflamed. I’m basically looking to find any natural remedies whether it be food, holistic remedies or herbal that I can at least supplement to take down the inflammation as it makes it more difficult to determine what the issue is. Also any one who may have had similar symptoms with their cat please share ! Thanks in advance !

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi - if I may ask, did the vet provide any pain medications or any other meds?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Newhereluvcats

New to caring for a senior cat
Kitten
Purraise
Hi - if I may ask, did the vet provide any pain medications or any other meds?
I don’t believe pain meds were prescribed, there was an anti inflammatory and antibiotic. I am just looking for some natural ways to assist the cat

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
A couple more questions, is she able to pee normally?

You have an anti inflammatory that she's getting, I'd be extremely concerned about giving her anything else that may conflict with that and the antibiotic. Did the vet say how long 'til they expect the anti inflammatory to take effect?

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
I take it the antibiotic is a precaution since you say the vet found no evidence of an infection? Did the vet think your cat has stones/crystals? It sounds like it could be a form of FIC (feline idiopathic cystitis) - see article link below.