I'm a newbie having inherited 2 siamese cats!

dakittynewb

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I have 2 (Brother and sister) beautiful Siamese cats

that I inherited from my Mother who passed-away from cancer in April 2015. 

I don’t know much about cats and mine are overweight.

I don’t know how old they are, I’d guess about 10 years old?

I don’t want them to have health issues when it can be largely avoidable 

by making healthier choices right?

I’ve tried a so-called “weight control” dry food. But they are still fat.

If I try giving them less food, they meow at me incessantly like teenage girls until I give in!

They only like dry food. And they are still too fat.

​Every time various people see them, they always spontaneously comment on how "BIG" they are!

I call them my Raccoons! Yes I try to lighten my mood about it, but the truth is I'm worried for their health.

Any words of wisdom for my Fat Cats?

Thanks so-much in advice.

DaKittyNewb

molly22

Country girl living the life with my furry friends
Adult Cat
Purraise
Oh boy, I have a Siamese mix and they are quite the talkers! How much do they weigh? Do you leave food out all day or feed them at certain times?

margd

Chula and Paul's roommate
Veteran
Purraise
Welcome to TCS!  
Do you have any pictures of your kitties?  We'd love to see them.  And bless you for taking in two senior cats - it must have given your mother great peace of mind to know you would take care of them.  I'm sorry you lost your mother to cancer - I did as well and it does hurt so much. 

One of the best ways to get your kitties to lose weight is to get them to eat wet food.  Yes, I know it is not easy, especially if they have been eating "kitty crack" for ten years but there are approaches that can help. The article below should help. 
[article="31138"]Transitioning Your Cat From Kibble To A New Type Of Food Canned Raw Or Homemade  [/article]