How Much To Feed Ferals

muffy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
How much do you guys feed your ferals? I have a little orange cat that comes to my front door and I give him 2 cans of Fancy Feast every morning and every night. I was worried if maybe this is too much. Sometimes when I come back to pick up his plate he is still sitting there and he hollers for more. One time I gave him 4 cans and he ate every bit of it. I won't do that again. I am afraid he might get sick. He acts like he is starving all the time. I saw on a TV show the other day that a cats stomach is only as big as a ping pong ball.
I have 4 ferals that I feed all together. I feed the rest of them on my deck in the back yard. I give them 2 cans of Friskies and 2 cans of Fancy Feast twice a day. I leave dry food and fresh water out all day for them. I feed them Blue Buffalo.
I was wondering how much I should be feeding the cats.
Muffy

keeneland

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I am no expert but that seems to me that you are over feeding. There is also a good chance this cat has worms and is not getting the full benefit of the food he is getting. I would try to mix some worm meds into his wet food and go to mixture of one can of wet and a large red solo cup of dry food per day. After our ferals found they had a regular food source they slowed down on the eating and much prefer smaller snacks through out the day. This is much more do able with dry food than wet. Best wishes and thank you for caring!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

muffy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I am no expert but that seems to me that you are over feeding. There is also a good chance this cat has worms and is not getting the full benefit of the food he is getting. I leave out their food