Homeless Cat

Sunbury

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I have been feeding a homeless cat for a few months now, when I first started feeding him. ( we call him Charlie) he was skin over bones, I can get within a foot of him feeding him treats but he wants nothing to do with the food in the trap. Its going to get cold out soon, I just want him inside now where its warm and safe, He's a young boy and I just know once he's in he would adapt quickly. I have 3 rescues already and I'm hoping to give this a a loving home as well. Any ideas would be appreciated.

1CatOverTheLine

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Sunbury Sunbury - Be patient, and continue showing him a kind Heart, because in cats - as opposed to in Humans - kindness still retains its value. Have you yet tried simply showing Charlie the food, and then placing it in the trap while he watches, and walking away?

Welcome to TCS, by the way.

surya

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Maybe try a different bait food. Some people say Kentucky fried chicken works good. Wash the trap out real good and then rub sardine or tuna oil all over it. Maybe you could put the trap next to something and lean a board over it to disguise it. You might want to skip a meal before trapping to make sure he is so hungry he can't resist. I like to leave an empty can of food next to the trap as an appetizer. They sit there and lick the juice out of the empty can, sniffing whatever is in the trap until the temptation gets to them. You can use cat nip and smelly fish sauce from a Chinese restaurant on the trap too. I have used a big dog carrier to catch hard to catch cats too. Because it is bigger sometimes they feel more comfortable going in there to eat. I tie a string to the door and run up and latch it closed. Good luck.

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
He sounds trap savvy!

You're saying he won't go in the trap to eat even when it's left overnight?

Where do you feed him?