High Temperature In Cat

Ksblue

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi I'm new to this, so please bare with me. My 3 year old cat has had fever for around 2 days now. She had explosive dirrohea couple days prior to that so we have her medication for it from a local vet shop. It stopped and she was absolutely fine, eating and drinking and moving. A day ago she stopped walking so much and slept almost the entire day, and we managed to find a vet that will treat her since we couldn't afford to. Anyway, she was on IV for about 24 hours and started to become more alert and moving around more, but still sleepy. Her temperature was around 106 when we arrived at the vets and dropped to around 103/102 When she was discharged. The problem is we cannot afford anymore treatment and we still don't know what the issue is. She seems to be better as she is eating and drinking (a little). She's putting and affectionate, but still sleepy. I'm sorry I'm rambling on, but we have no idea what to do. We have spent 700 pound on jist basic consultation, the stay, IV And antibiotics. She's been taking CLARITHROMYCIN a quater of a tablet a day. She also keeps licking her bottom area a lot, but that's about it. Please, any help at all. We have no idea what to do.

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi. I can't of much help, but I will say that the diarrhea might have caused her behind to a bit irritated, causing the excess licking. Has the diarrhea stopped? And, how many days is she due to be on the antibiotics? What did the vet tell you to look for in terms of improvement or lack of improvement?

That was a very high temperature and probably took a toll on her energy level. If you have a pediatric rectal thermometer, it might be a good idea to check on her temp to make sure it is staying down. You don't want it to go that high again. I have included an article about fevers in cats that includes instructions on how to take a cat's temperature.