Help! Raccoons and skunks have invaded my feral feeding spots :(

foodsanta

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Where I feed are 2 different places, a block away from eachother. These ferals depend on me but mostly only come out after dark. I feed 4-5 next to a park and 7-8 in a kind old man's back yard. His neighbors are not so kind and do not want anyone feeding the ferals. I have been feeding after dark for 3 years and suddenly the area has been overtaken by raccoons and skunks who have been stealing all the food. I thought my cats were just super starving and that is why I have to keep leaving more and more food but I guess it isn't being eaten only by them. I can't monitor since I have 2 jobs and do not live in the neighborhood. The old man won't feed because he hates his neighbors. I haven't minded the skunks so much but they seem to be multiplying and the raccoons are so scary how fast they came running up to me on a food mission. I also worry for my ferals' safety and health. Advice please!!!!

Last edited:

catwoman707

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I SO know this one!

I also care for several colonies where I have tnr'd groups, and yes, the raccoons and skunks, and don't forget the possum too, all eventually find out and tell their families, and before you know it there is a full blown zoo of critters you are feeding!

Not really alot you can do about this. I just accept that they all are hungry and need to eat and just leave more food is all.

AS for the cat's safety, theyre safe. Skunks and raccoons both are aggressive about food, for sure. But that said, cats are smart and figure this out early on, and allow them to eat first, and then move in to eat afterwards.

That's really all they want is to eat first, so the cats submit to this, rather than pushing their limits and being run off or worse, injured/killed.

Possums however will eat side by side and are very cat friendly and non aggressive.