help me with kittens?

sammysosa

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My cat has had about 7 or 8 litters not 100% sure i have only had her a year.. well she went into labor this evening around 4 pm she had her first kitten at 4:39 pm i am worried that there are still more kittens in side but I'm not sure her belly still feels like there is more in there. Should i be concerned for her? She has been getting out her basket an eating an using her litter box.... can anyone help me i have never been around a pregnant cat an this is my first time with the labor as well. Thanks so much to anyone that can help me not be so worried!

StefanZ

Advisor
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
My cat has had about 7 or 8 litters not 100% sure i have only had her a year.. well she went into labor this evening around 4 pm she had her first kitten at 4:39 pm i am worried that there are still more kittens in side but I'm not sure her belly still feels like there is more in there. Should i be concerned for her? She has been getting out her basket an eating an using her litter box.... can anyone help me i have never been around a pregnant cat an this is my first time with the labor as well. Thanks so much to anyone that can help me not be so worried!
This situation of unsecurity isnt unusual: is she done and has just some of the usual swellings of the uterus, and perhaps even some gas rolling around the bowels,  OR does she has a pause, and there is still kittens inside?

But the answer is easy, and covers both variations.   You look and observe closely.

If she is OK, not visible problems, happily busying herself with the kittens, everyting according to plane - you can relax.   Be observant, as complications can occur even if everything was OK, but you dont need to panic.   EVEN if you are quite sure there is still one left, waiting for its turn.   Long pauses arent that unusual.

Some red colored discharges are rather common - THAT may be tricky to decide if its much or just some few drops