Help! Just adopted an adult cat. and he bites!

madamenordica

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I'm having a problem with the cat I just adopted this past Saturday. It's so damned fast you can't do anything to prevent it, and I'm a pianist, so I have excellent reflexes! I barely managed to avoid him tonight, only because I saw his paw come up - but this cat is only a year old, so I thought he should be able to be trained not to bite - I at times walk out of the room when he does it after vehemently saying no and extricating my hand, I've tried a spray bottle (he really hates that and runs away.....which is rather desired at that point), and I've been trying to wear him out playing, but am having a difficult time motivating him. Granted, I've only had him 4 days and I'm already considering taking him back, but I have students come for lessons, and I can NOT allow him to bite THEM, and I'm really not fond of the idea of being bitten every day for the rest of his natural life. Nothing seems to help.

Last edited by a moderator:

mservant

The Mouse servant
Veteran
Purraise
Welcome to TCS.  I'm sorry you are having this painful experience with your new cat.  I went from adoring to terrified within seconds of turning my light out the first night I brought Mouse home because he was so intent on biting me, including my face and know how devastating it can be.   It is possible to change with almost every cat though so do please persevere.

First thing I suggest you do is take a look through this article about discipline as things like the spray bottle can make the situation worse.  

http://www.thecatsite.com/a/cats-and-discipline-dont-mix

Does he bite when you are sitting still or when you are moving your hands in some way (such as playing piano or exercising)?