Help! I don't know what to do here!

Christinemeowk

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
A feral mother cat I've been feeding and trying to make mine since 2019 died on the 25th of August. She had given birth July 16th. She had just become friendly with me shortly before giving birth. I tried to get her before she had her kittens but missed it by one day. After finding her dead I brought her home and buried her and continued to look for the kittens daily. She had them somewhere near my old apartment. I had no idea how many or what they look like Yesterday when I thought all hope was lost my hubbs saw a Facebook post from a neighbor at old neighborhood looking for help with abandoned kittens. One look and I knew they were hers. They dropped them off to us and I set up shop for them in our very large basement. Plenty of food and water, warm bedding and multiple litter boxes. I've seen foot prints in the litter but not a box used yet. Today I found the scared little babies on top of one of our two oil tanks. I cannot reach them to get them down without them shimmying down between oil tank and wall. Then I looked under the tanks and discovered they have been going to the bathroom under them, wayyy back along the walls. Can't reach the kittens. Can't get to the poo and pee to clean it. Can't figure out how to get them using the litter boxes. I've taken in kittens from two previous litters from same momma cat. All of them used the litter boxes on their own. She didn't have enough time to show these ones the ropes. What do I do?

fionasmom

Staff Member
Purraise
How To Train Kittens To Use The Litter Box – TheCatSite Articles
Litter Box Location Secrets – TheCatSite Articles
The 10 Most Common Litterbox Mistakes Cat Owners Make – TheCatSite Articles
How To Solve Litterbox Problems In Cats: The Ultimate Guide – TheCatSite Articles