Help! Caring for single newborn kitten...

Status
Not open for further replies.

mindyl3igh

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Almost 72 hours ago, I found a baby kitten in the middle of the road. Her eyes aren't even open yet and she was infested with fleas. I got nearly every single flea off of her the first day and she didn't eat too well with me the first day

well my concern is...she was weighing in at 4.4oz the first dayand I may have gotten her to eat 15cc the first day, but yesterday she ate right 31cc, but her weight is 4.35oz now. I am doing every single thing I can for this baby! It's my first time ever doing this. I am giving her KMR every 2 hours and have been mixing a little Pedialyte with it. She hs been peeing good, and has had 4 BMs since I had her, only one was runny, the others have been formed to a jelly-like consistency (which I read is not bad...it was not curd like, but just jelly-like, semi-formed) and one was really well formed.

Should I be worrying so much about her weight or is there anything I can do to add more calories that is safe or should I just keep doing everything I am doing? Could it be from her being as active as she is? The first day I had her, when I gave her a small warm bath with just water trying to get as many of the fleas off as I could, she was fighting me like I don't know what! lol

She tries to walk and root around nearly the whole time I am feeding her, lol...and when I put her back in her nest, she roots around quietly until she gets comfy...definitely doesn't come off as weak by any means. She fusses most when I am stimulating her...strong meows. Just conerned about the little weight loss, instead of any gain.

I just want her to live so bad. Any advice or tips are greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much! This is her... :)

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
She sounds feisty alright! :)

You are doing lots of things right by her, but she needs more formula.