Hello :)

neiana

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello everyone! :)

I am a TCS newbie but not a cat newbie.  I'm 34 and I've had cats for the majority of my life.  Over the years I changed from a kid who just wanted a cat to a husband who is trying to sway my wife from the idea of being a (typical, at least) backyard breeder.

A little about me and my wife that might explain the above:  I grew up in the USA where it's easy to find sheltered cats, or even that stray cats can have different appearances.  I had and always have had a wide variety of options when it comes to having a cat without spending too much outside of health costs.  My first was aptly named "Kitty" and while he was of an unknown breed, we loved to speculate that he was a Russian Blue Persian.  Kitty became a loving outdoor cat that eventually had to be put down at 13 years of age due to liver failure.

My next cat was adopted from a local pet store.  This cat's name was Miko and was claimed to be a Siamese Persian by the store.  We paid $25 for the adoption and was given medical records.  We actually had Miko for several years while Kitty was still alive.  Miko was an indoor cat, as was my sister's can, a Tortie long hair she named Golden Eyes...because of her golden eyes.  At length, these two cats also became outdoor cats.  After about 10 years, Miko stopped showing up but Golden Eyes went with my sister when she moved out of the house.  GE eventually passed of natural causes.