"Healthy" cat keeps vomiting

kilgore_trout

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello and thank you for reading. I have a 16 year old cat, Coco, who despite his age is very lively and energetic! He's an indoor cat, and according to his previous owner has never been sick, I've had him since february. About a week ago he started vomiting, pretty much daily, sometimes even twice a day. Sometimes its only liquid and sometimes its right after he's eaten and he throws up his food. I have not changed his diet or my household cleaning products. I've moved the plants so I know he's not eating them. He shows now other signs of sickness....eats and uses his litter box regularly, just as much crazy energy as before. What could be the problem? Is it time for a change in diet, visit to the vet? I'm a student and don't have a job, does a "check up" usually cost a lot?

Thanks!
Kilgore

hissy

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Coco needs to go in and have blood work drawn- a senior panel. That is the best thing to do.

pat

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Love your user name

Thank you for adopting a senior catizen! I agree, a vet visit specially with a request for a senior panel is in order. The senior panel will give you a baseline for comparison at every yearly exam, re thyroid and kidney status, two things that many senior cats end up having issues with.

See if you can get a referral to a good local vet, and then ask about setting up a payment plan. Office visits can truly vary widely depending on where you live in the us as well as rural versus city. My vet is $36 for an office visit, a senior panel is somewhere between $80-$100 BUT I truly have heard other tcs members mentioning much lower prices for both their office visit, and a senior panel...so find a vet that comes recommended, and then get a quote and take it from there.

Please keep us posted?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

kilgore_trout

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise