Have You Ever Had A Feral Leave Colony After Many Years

m935

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I just need some support if you could. I have no one who really understands how emotionally difficult caring for ferals is. I've been feeding for 10 years starting with 19... Only 4 are left making the next few years the absolute worst as losing them gets harder and harder. I just "lost" the youngest... She has "taken off" for the first time in 5 years. She was at every meal (fed twice daily). What pains me most is I couldn't trap her to get her adopted, I feel I failed her and can't get over the guilt. I know she COULD come back... but This is a first disappearance.... It's been 4days. She has 2best friends here. Having depression doesn't help... But I hate feeding now because I have such hope she'll come running out... That i break down on my walk home.. And if I really never see her again I will always feel that her short life was totally my fault.
I understand life is horrible for a lot of people.. And this is silly i suppose.. But I just still find it a tough situation to accept.thanks for your time

Last edited:

surya

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Since you don't know where she is, it is possible she is eating somewhere else. Try not to assume the worst. The truth is we don't have very much control, but dwelling on the worst does not change anything. Our suffering does not help the cats. So it is not useful to get stuck in the pain. But I do understand. I have gone through it too. Sometimes you have to take a step back and detach a little bit, and just enjoy the present moment with the cats that you still have. You can not appreciate them fully if your stuck in sadness. I send out positive thoughts and sometimes I pray for the missing, that is all I can do. It is not your fault. You have done the best you can for the kitties.

sweetblackpaws

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise