Guilt Over Adopting Young Cat?

littlecatt

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I've been plagued by this for a while and wanted to get it off my chest! I'm a first year graduate student and when I moved to a new area I knew I wanted to get a cat. I've grown up with cats and they're now seniors, and I was really looking forward to getting a cat of my own. When I went to visit the shelter, Finn (my cat) just stood out. My dad absolutely fell in love with him. He was seven months (a year and a half now), vocal and affectionate, and just wanted to rub up against people. When my adoption application was approved I took him home. He's a massive sweetheart and we're bonded. He comes when called and loves playing fetch. He's a shoulder cat and loves riding around and observing while I make dinner or clean. He purrs like a motorboat and I've never had a cat that is so adamant about sitting on laps. He had a pretty gnarly case of URI and bacteria overgrowth in his intestine when I got him, but he's got a clean bill of health now. Here's him right now on my lap while I type this.

However I always get really guilty over the fact I adopted a sweet seven month cat. I've joined this site and realized how hard it is to adopt out cats that are older and have behavioral problems. The shelter is no-kill, though I'm sure if I hadn't adopted Finn he would have gotten snapped up fast by someone else -- he's so young and charming. I love him so much, but I feel sad that I didn't give a less adoptable cat a chance to leave the shelter and come home. Is it silly to be carrying this around? I want to adopt another cat in the future, and maybe then can find one that's been overlooked.

Attachments

orange&white

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise