going out doors

tizzlah

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I didn't know where this thread ought to have gone so i thought plonking it here would be okay...

So in 2 weeks Leo gets his 2nd set of jabs, and can then go outside...
How do people introduce their kittys to the big outdoors?

stealthkitty

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I have no experience with this, but I would say that if your yard is enclosed and safe for kitty, just open your door and allow him to go out if he so chooses. Otherwise, maybe you could train him to wear a harness and take him out under your supervision.

yayi

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
How do people introduce their kittys to the big outdoors?
In my case, first I make sure the kittens respond to my voice and come running when I call. Then I sit on the steps leading to the garden. The kittens would be curious and wander not very far, looking back seemingly to make sure I was there. After a couple of days of this, I start walking around the garden. The kittens would be quite confident by now and begin exploring. For a week, I go with them on these "supervised" walks, calling them once in a while to make sure they come. After that, the outdoors (well, it's the garden) is theirs.

By the way, be sure your cats are spayed/neutered! 

Last edited:

orientalslave

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Only let them out when hungry, to start with.  But before letting them out think carefully about how safe where you live is - how close are busy roads for example?  Also think about if your back garden could be made escape-proof so they have the best of both worlds.

stealthkitty

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise