Foster mom and kitten

rin68nyr

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi! Long story short…we asked our neighbor’s permission to take in their cat who seems to be about 6-7 months old (though I’m no expert), who has a kitten. im judging the kitten to be about 8 weeks. The cat had been outdoors only, and I don’t think they were feeding her. We fed her a few times, and she pretty much moved to our porch, was friendly with us…and then later, surprise surprise, brought her kitten. That’s the day we asked if we could take her in, and the neighbors said yes (Sunday…yesterday). Mom is underweight, but she did a great job with her chunky little kitten! The don’t have fleas, and seem to be generally in good health. We have an appointment this coming weekend, through a rescue, to get her vaccines, microchip, check-up, and if she’s not pregnant again, spayed. I don’t THINK shes carrying another litter, but again..I have no experience with this, and there was a male cat who came to visit. They are now inside, in my 16 year old son’s room, and the kitten is very playful. Mom is still on guard, but happy to be brushed. We’re not allowing full run of the house just yet, as we have a cat already, and I want to make sure these 2 don’t have any illnesses they could spread, though they do seem quite healthy. Our cat doesn’t seem bothered by this.

My immediate question is…mom seems to be hungry a lot. Should I be feeding her more often than a regular adult cat since, though the kitten does eat food, he’s also still suckling? I had fed them their “dinner” and 4 hours later, mom was crying. I fed them again, and now they are happy, and settling down in their bed. Our other cat (and all others we’ve had, since we usually adopt adults who are spayed/neutered) always just have breakfast and dinner. So should I just feed them more often? We will eventually rehome the kitten (already have 2 serious offers), but will wait on advice from the vet/rescue.