First time foster/adoptee for feral/trauma cat

Azhaste

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hey doods,

I am looking for some input on a scared feral female torti cat. They aged roughly 10M now probably 11M. She was a local stray that got hit by a car that I saw on Facebook. I caught her and brought her home and reached out to a local rescue for help. She has a displaced pelvis had her tail amputated and will have her left leg amputated this upcoming week. So of course TNRing her isn't really an option as she probably wouldn't do too well outside. She's of course not too friendly but is food motivated at times and has gotten to the point of tolerating me. Please check out this link . It's a public Facebook video of her and me that I sent the rescue as we were looking at her left leg issues. This is my first time fostering and I'm putting a lot of effort and care into her and I just want her to have a good life.

Am I making a mistake caring for her so even though she's still so feral? Is it possible she will relax a little and be able to roam the house more? Just looking for people's input

maggiemay

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
She is beautiful, bless her sweet little heart. I adopted a pretty much feral boy and it took forever to be allowed to touch him. After two years, I was finally able to put two hands on him. Now, six years later, he’s a total love bug, but only with me. I am his person. Yes, they adjust, but it takes time and patience. My boy had a blocked urethra. He was in the hospital for a week and thar seemed to be the turning point for us. He knew I was trying so hard to help him. Believe me, this little girl knows it too. She would be at a disadvantage outdoors now. One thing I would recommend, let her have the run of the house once she is physically healthy. It helped my boy to not feel hemmed in by doors, etc, He has not once tried to go outside. Hope this helps, and bless you for caring for this precious little life.

fionasmom

Staff Member
Purraise