First-time cat mom of a lovely stray :)

wiltedfern

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hello!! This is my first post on here… I’m a college student and a first-time cat mom of the sweetest Jasmine and a foster mom of Baby. I’m just posting on here for some general advice and tips of how to make these guys as happy as I can!! Here’s our story so far.

008E41D3-F947-4314-988A-70D1F92B8846.jpeg

Jasmine (black) has been a feral cat around my apartment complex since before I moved here. My roommates recall seeing her out in the woods and in the parking lot for a couple years before I showed up. She was completely unsocialized to humans and it took a while for her to be comfortable with petting. But the second I touched her for the first time about a year ago, I instantly fel with her and named her on the spot. It just jumped out to me. For a few months I’d just sit on my porch with her any spare hour I had between classes. Then, I started opening my window and she would come into my room for food and to snuggle up with me on my bed at night. That’s around the time Baby came in the picture.

Baby (orange) was born to one of the feral females in the woods and parking lot. He had siblings but they disappeared over time, presumably from other people or predators. He was a little harder to tame but his curiosity overrode his distrust of humans. Pretty soon, he also joined Jasmine’s little schedule of coming in for food and naps. He is still around, but I’m in the process of finding him a home (I can’t afford two vet bills) so I just call him my little foster kitty.