FIP Cat in Remission Diet

TheCook12

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello All,

I have a kitten who is about a year old, unfortunately in March he was misdiagnosed with IMHA and within four hours of euthanasia, after multiple hospital visits and rounds of blood work was finally diagnosed with FIP; by an amazing vet who squeezed us in the same day. We have completed the G's, and his final blood work is tomorrow! I've been managing a horse with EPM for over five years, there are a million dietary and environmental recommendations for these neurological horses. Now the question is, what do I do for my kitten?

I've asked the team of vets and rescue that I've been receiving the meds from, unfortunately they don't have any suggestions as far as supplements to support his immune system and general health. I'm having an issue accepting this as a person who has extensive nutrition experience in equines. I feel like I'm left in the dark regarding long term care. Due to him being a picky eater I haven't been able to get him to eat 100% raw. Currently, he gets a 50/50 mixture of N&D venison/pumpkin and freeze dried raw organs (balanced for his diet) with ultra oil. Most of it is rehydrated with turkey broth, the rest is put into puzzles feeders. Then I split one pouch of Tiki Cat velvet mousse AM/PM for extra moister.

What else can I do for him to prevent relapse or other immune/neurological conditions? This kitten has has a ridiculously hard start to life with multiple cases of pneumonia, URI's, and now FIP. He seems to be thriving currently, we are open to anything, budget isn't a concern. I just don't want to see him suffer again. Due to quality control and environmental concerns I'd like to stay away from Nestle Purina and corn/soy.

Thank You!

mrsgreenjeens

Every Life Should Have Nine Cats
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise