Faye And Annabelle

cifelliac

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hey Everyone,

My name is Amanda and I’ve been a lurker for a while and just thought I would share our family cats with everyone! We are from Canada, and I’m a Graphic Designer looking for work.

It started when my brother wanted a cat to “annoy my budgies.” After months of convincing, the parents finally said yes. Knowing my brother, we on a manhunt for the perfect cat. The first cat we meet at a PetValu was named Faye, and it’s normally the first cat you always pick right? So after going to numerous other places, Faye was adopted.

After we adopted Faye, I wondered why we didn’t have a cat sooner since they were so amazing. Faye got me into volunteering at my local shelter with the cats since I was recently unemployed. I loved going to the shelter and spending time with the cats. A couple months later, they put out a plea for more foster homes, so I convinced my parents to foster. A couple months later they needed foster coordinators, so I did that along with fostering.

Our fourth foster was Annabelle. We didn’t know at the time, but we later realized that she was semi-blind. The vet could only assume she was like this since birth as she does a great job of navigating regardless. It took her a VERY long time to come out to be social as we later found out she had very bad gingivitis and was most likely in lots of pain. It took a month for her abscesses to finally go away before she could get her teeth cleaned, they had to pull two teeth out.

She was so attached to my mom (as she worked from home and was the one in the basement – isolation room with Annabelle.) And since she was special needs they didn’t want her to go into the shelter for safety so in late April of last year we adopted her.