Does Anyone Have Sling Tv?

misty8723

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I've been looking for awhile at different options to cut the cord on cable TV, but I just don't understand any of it enough to feel confident in actually making a move. I am sick of Spectrum. But it seems as though you need more than one thing to be able to get any channels, Hulu, Roku, Sling, it makes my head spin. If anyone has any advice as to what would be a good option, I'd love to hear it. We do have Smart TVs.

Boris Diamond

Cat Valet
Top Cat
Purraise
I have some experience here. For media sources, I have an over-the-air antenna, SlingTV and Amazon Prime. For streaming the internet, I have a Roku 3, an Amazon Firestick, a Samsung SmartTV and a Channel Master DVR, which will stream some services but will only record over-the-air channels. I rarely use the SmartTV for streaming, as it has limited apps. It streams Amazon Prime fairly well and it is useful as a regular TV. The interface is best on the Firestick and, oddly enough, with it I have access to more programming from some of the SlingTV channels I have.

The SlingTV website is not very informative. I think this website explains it much better than Sling does. Sling TV channel guide: All the programming, all the restrictions, and everything else you need to know

I tried Sling in January, but the signal was so bad I quit after the free trial. I tried it again in August and it is acceptable. I get a good and consistent signal on Firestick, OK signal on the Roku and don't watch much on the Channel Master DVR because of blurring, and freezing up. SlingTV is not available on my SmartTV. You may have different experience with which streaming device works best for you.